Independent Diplomat is guided by an advisory council of experienced former and serving diplomats, international lawyers and leaders of human rights organisations:

A. Whitney Ellsworth, In Memoriam 1936-2011

Publishing consultant; former publisher of The New York Review of Books; former member and vice-chairman of Amnesty International USA; former member and vice-chairman of AI International Executive Committee; board member and secretary of Human Rights First and board member The Andrei Sakharov Foundation (USA). 

Gareth Evans

President Emeritus of International Crisis Group; Chancellor of the Australian National University; Honorary Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne; Co-Chair of the International Commission on Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament; author of The Responsibility to Protect: Ending Mass Atrocity Crimes Once and For All (Brookings, 2008) and former Foreign Minister of Australia (1988-96).

Edward Mortimer

Senior Vice-President and Chief Programme Officer of the Salzburg Global Seminar; until end-2006 Director of Communications, Executive Office of the UN Secretary-General and former Foreign Affairs Editor, Financial Times.

Thomas R. Pickering

Vice Chairman of Hills & Company; former Senior Vice President, International Relations of Boeing Company; former U.S. Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs; former US Ambassador to the Russian Federation, India, Israel, El Salvador, Nigeria, Jordan and the United Nations; former Assistant Secretary of State for Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs and Chairman of the American Academy of Diplomacy.

Marjatta Rasi

Former Finnish Ambassador to India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan (1991-95); Director General of the Department of International Development Cooperation within the Finnish MFA (1995-1998); former Finnish Permanent Representative to the UN in New York (1998-2005); former Member of the Board of the International Peace Academy (2000-2002); Vice President of ECOSOC (2002-2003); And Chairman of ECOSOC (2004-2005); Under Secretary of State for Development Policy at the Finnish MFA (2005-2009); Ambassador to Austria and Permanent Representative to UN organizations in Vienna until 2013.

Danilo Türk

Former Slovenian Permanent Representative to the United Nations, former Assistant Secretary-General of the UN Department of Political Affairs , President of Slovenia from December 2007 until December 2012.

Francesc Vendrell

Senior Visiting Fellow at the Liechtenstein Institute on Self-Determination (LISD) and the Frederick H. Schultz Professor of International Policy at the Woodrow Wilson School; former EU Special Representative in Afghanistan; former UN Special Representative in Afghanistan and former Assistant Secretary-General, Department of Political Affairs, UN Secretariat.

Former Members

Former members of ID’s advisory council include Ian Martin former Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General and Head of the UN Mission in East Timor and former Secretary-General of Amnesty International; Alyson Bailes (In Memoriam 1949-2016), Visiting Professor, Faculty of Political Science, University of Iceland; former head of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) and former British Ambassador to Finland.